Heartache (Friday Fictioneers)

Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Image Copyright: Ted Strutz

Word Count: 100

It’s too early to be drinking, but I am. I’ve been here every day this week, wishing for change. The only thing that has is the funds in my bank account, squandered on hours spent dreaming.

Her promise to meet me here, like we did in better times, was empty. Like a fool, I keep returning. I look out the window again, hoping she’ll pass by. Then what? Our eyes meet, and she forgives me?

I guess I deserve this.

But I miss her. I want nothing more than to convince her of my innocence. I just need the chance.

26 thoughts on “Heartache (Friday Fictioneers)

  1. Definitely a feeling of loss here but I agree that he needs to move on. Maybe the forgiveness can come later. Good portrayal of the aftermath of loss and dealing, or not dealing, with it.

    janet

    • Thank you! That’s the crux of the issue, isn’t it? Fooling yourself into thinking you’re moving on, when you’re really wallowing in self-pity.

Leave a Reply

