It’s not for girls, because you see, it is a robot.

Prime example of marketing based on exclusion.  Girly stuff is inferior.  Let this robot manhandle your life.

I wrote about the new Droid phone just before it came out, and about how excited I was about it. I’m never the biggest fan of picking a company and pitting yourself against them (though it’s hard to avoid with the mega-popularity the iPhone has), but picking something that “represents” half the world’s population and saying that if it represents women, then it’s pretty much useless, then my friends, that is so infuriating to people like me.

I nearly wrote a review on the Droid. Backstory: My boyfriend purchased one and I had to show him how to set it up, how to customize it, and how to download and use applications. He was very reluctant at first, because he’s never owned a smartphone and thought it was too complicated.  But guess what?  Now that he’s had time to get to learn it (with a bit of help to get started) he loves it! And he knows I love it, too. The only reason I decided against writing a review was because I felt I only got started on it, and I don’t want to do a half-assed job.

Now I feel compelled to write a review, and record myself putting unicorn backgrounds on the phone, customizing it with Rainbow Brite ringtones, shopping online for shoes, purses, and a new haircut, and of course talking on it hands free about my latest girls’ night out.

Oh, Droid does, indeed.

One thought on “It’s not for girls, because you see, it is a robot.

  1. I want you to know something. You’ll hate me for telling you this, and you’ll probably discard this comment. Of course, I don’t want you to react that way. Listen, I know for a fact that the cell phone companies are knowingly lying the same lie that the cigarette companies knowingly lied. There will be an epidemic of brain cancer in cell-phone users in their late twenties, and early thirties. It takes years for cancer to develop until it’s noticeable, and the radiation from cell phones is more than enough to cause an epidemic of brain cancer. My brother Darren has a tumor in his brain and he doesn’t have a landline. Many more people will begin to get what he has, it will become an epidemic, and it’s because of cell phones. For example, people who started using cell phones as teenagers will notice brain tumors in their early thirties. This will be widespread, and it’ll be a harsh wake-up call for a lot of people. Think about that bright screen beside your face and recall how when you were young authority figures used to tell you to sit a certain distance away from the television because of radiation. Really think about it.

    You’re a vegetarian, so the alkalinity of your body will very likely protect you by preventing a tumor from being able to manifest. And if a tumor does manifest, all you have to do is stop using your cell phone and it’ll go away because of your vegeterian lifestyle. But within the next few years, you WILL start noticing a higher rate of brain cancer in your friends. The cell phone companies are knowingly lying. Cell phones DO cause cancer. I know this for a fact, and it’s very difficult to get anyone to listen.

Leave a Reply

